Skip Ribbon Commands

Elementary Alternative Boundary Expansion

    OCDSB > Schools > Accommodation/Program Reviews
Notice of Board Decision 
Please be advised that Board, at its meeting on 16 December 2014, approved the expansion of the Elementary Alternative program boundary, effective September 2015.
Report 14-172 Elementary Alternative Program Attendance Boundary Expansion is complete and will be discussed at the Committee of the Whole meeting on December 9, 2014.  Final decisions are scheduled to take place at the Board meeting on December 16, 2014.
For information regarding Board meetings and how to appear as a delegate, please see the link below:
On September 23, 2014, Board authorized staff to proceed with a consultation plan and an approved timeline for the proposed expansion of the elementary alternative program boundaries that are to include suburban and rural areas outside the existing boundary (areas outside of the Greenbelt).
Please see Report 14-107 for background/detail.
Potential expansion areas include the following:
-West – Kanata, Stittsville, Richmond, Munster and all rural west communites
-South -  Barrhaven, south Nepean, Riverside South, Manotick & all rural south communities
-East – Orleans, Blackburn Hamlet & all rural east communities
A series of four (4) public meetings took place dealing with the proposed elementary alternative boundary expansion across the District for community convenience. 
Meeting Dates included:
#1 - South
7:00 P.M.
Thurs. Oct 23/14
Farley Mowat PS
75 Waterbridge Dr.
#2 - Central
7:00 P.M.
Tues. Oct 28/14
Nepean HS
574 Broadview Ave
#3 - East
7:00 P.M.
Wed. Nov. 5/14
Trillium ES
1515 Varennes Blvd.
#4 - West
7:00 P.M.

Mon. Nov. 10/14
A.Y. Jackson SS
150 Abbeyhill Dr.
The SAME information was made available at each meeting.

What is the Elementary Alternative Program?
The Elementary Alternative program is one of four main elementary programs offered at the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board. These programs include Regular/English, Early French Immersion, Middle French Immersion and the English Alternative program.
The Elementary Alternative program has its foundation in student centred learning which includes strong community support and parent involvement. The program affords student’s opportunities to meet Ministry expectations while allowing concentration in areas of their own interest and aptitude.
The following characteristics are found in many of the programs across the elementary level and collectively they provide for the basis of the tenets of the alternative program.  These include:
-Cooperation and teamwork;
-Innovative approaches to teaching and learning;
-Balanced student directed/teacher directed learning;
-Multi-aged groupings of students
-Integrated curriculum with interrelation of all learning and subjects
-Family and community centred school environment; and
-Ongoing student led assessment and evaluation
The structure of the Elementary Alternative program ensures that each student can complete the core curriculum requirements of the Board and the Ministry of Education.
Where is the program offered?
The program is currently offered at five (5) locations across the District.  These include.
-Grant Alternative School (JK-6)
2625 Draper Ave
-Lady Evelyn Alternative School (JK-6)
63 Evelyn Ave.
-Churchill Alternative School (JK-6)
345 CHurchill Ave.
-Riverview Alternative School (JK-6)
260 Knox Cresc.
-Summit Alternative (7-8)
250 Holland Avenue
Please see elementary alternative composite map.
The boundary for this program and these schools generally extends to the Greenbelt.  Currently, any student living outside the Greenbelt (suburbs and rural areas) wishing to attend this program can do so on transfer.
Following the 2013 market demand survey on the elementary alternative program, it was determined that there is some interest in areas not currently served by the program.  After a number of Board meetings considering the program and its boundaries, Trustees passed a motion that would direct staff to develop a plan for the expansion of the boundaries to include all areas of the District not currently served by the program for implementation in September 2015.