June 24, 2022 - A Reminder to Take Home Personal Belongings, Celebrating the Winners of the Student Recognition Awards, and more.

June 24, 2022 - A Reminder to Take Home Personal Belongings, Celebrating the Winners of the Student Recognition Awards, and more.
Posted on 06/24/2022

Hello OCDSB Students, 

A Reminder to Take Home Personal Belongings 

As we approach the end of the school year, remember to collect your personal belongings from your classrooms and/or your locker before the last day of school. 

Celebrating the Winners of the Student Recognition Awards 

Today, we are pleased to announce the winners of the 2021-2022 Student Recognition Awards and Excellence in Equity Student Recognition Award. These awards celebrate excellence in student leadership, recognizing their demonstration of initiative, supported by the will to succeed, the dedication to finish what they started, and the commitment to achieve their personal best. 

2021-2022 Student Recognition Award Recipients: 

  • Loujain Abou Bakr, Ottawa-Carleton Virtual Secondary School 
  • Favour Adeleke, Brookfield High School
  • Nasra Aden, Woodroffe High School
  • Ramla Ahmed, Longfields-Davidson Heights Secondary School
  • Mackenzie Alexander, Merivale High School
  • Abdullah Alhafadhi, Launch Secondary School 
  • Christine "Juunaisi" Angnetsiak, Urban Aboriginal Alternate High School
  • Desmond Anuku, Ridgemont High School
  • Nadiya Ariaratnam, Gloucester High School
  • Jenna Baker, Osgoode Township High School
  • Mason Craig, John McCrae Secondary School
  • Clara Costello, Lisgar Collegiate Institute
  • Reweena Debebe, Canterbury High School
  • Farah Dridi, Elizabeth Wyn Wood Secondary Alternate Program
  • Leia Fourney, Hillcrest High School 
  • Mathias Ghezzi, Richard Pfaff Secondary Alternate Program
  • Marley Griese, Sir Robert Borden High School 
  • Saan John, Earl of March Secondary School
  • Hugh Kelly, Nepean High School 
  • Justin Kelly, Frederick Banting Secondary Alternate Program
  • Chéda Knight-Johnston, Glebe Collegiate Institute
  • Jacqui Leroux, Adult High School
  • Lily Macdonald-Some, Ottawa Technical Secondary School
  • Eden Nowiski, Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School
  • Lily Omakor, South Carleton High School
  • Quacy Sealy, Sir Guy Carleton Secondary School 
  • Daisy Sheng, Colonel By Secondary School
  • Sierra Spencer, Norman Johnston Secondary Alternate Program
  • Anita Suthakaran, Cairine Wilson Secondary School
  • Kimberley Vail, Continuing Education 
  • Jessie Wang, West Carleton Secondary School
  • Laura Wang, Bell High School
  • Emily Wu, A.Y. Jackson Secondary School

Excellence in Equity Student Recognition Award: Nominees

  • Alannah Jade Ashby, Ottawa Technical Secondary School 
  • Isabelle Cai, Colonel By Secondary School 
  • Aster Graven, A.Y. Jackson Secondary School 
  • Yusra Jemmie, Woodroffe High School 
  • Alice Kandolo, Ridgemont High School 
  • Marie Langlois, Norman Johnston Secondary Alternate Program
  • Kasai Major-Browne, Sir Robert Borden High School 
  • Bashar Onisey, Ottawa-Carleton Virtual Secondary School (OCVSS)
  • Sephora Revolus, Elizabeth Wyn Wood Secondary Alternate Program 
  • AmaturRaheem Salam-Alada, South Carleton High School 
  • Ma’kayla Sparks-Grouse, Hillcrest High School 
  • Vanessa Wright, Cairine Wilson Secondary School 

Excellence in Equity Student Recognition Award: Winner 

  • Gracia Mwanga, Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School 

Congratulations to the award winners - please visit our website to learn more about their achievements. 

Congratulating the Winners of our Community Recognition Awards 

The winners of the 2021-2022 Community Recognition Awards were announced earlier this week: 

  • Community Award: Rebecca MacMillan, Maple Ridge Elementary School
  • Community Partnership Award: Donnielle Roman and Ottawa Community Immigrant Services Organization, OCDSB Schools
  • Distinguished School Council Service Award: Maja Strika, Featherston Drive Public School
  • Excellence in Equity Award: Lili Miller, Advisory Committee on Equity and Indigenous Education Council, and Mark Wylie, Special Education Advisory Committee  
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Michele Clarke, South Carleton High School
  • Chair’s Award: Cathy Dickson, Sir Guy Carleton Secondary School

Congratulations to all our award winners and nominees. Please visit our website to learn more about our 2021-2022 award winners. 

School News

Students and staff at Woodroffe High School recently hosted the Ottawa Deaf Youth Conference for grade 7-12 students that are Deaf or hard of hearing, which brought together over 130 participants to learn and build connections with peers across the province. Read the story.

Be sure to keep an eye on our School News page, where we’ll be sharing more school stories next week!

Upcoming Events

Ottawa Pride Parade - Sunday, August 28th

The City of Ottawa Capital Pride Parade is back in person this year and the OCDSB has been invited to once again lead the parade by carrying the giant parade pride flag! In previous years, hundreds of OCDSB students, staff and families walked or rode the yellow school bus, demonstrating our commitment to creating safer and more accepting spaces. We encourage everyone at OCDSB to join us on Sunday, 28 August at noon as we march together to celebrate diversity and promote inclusivity. Know more: ocdsb.ca/prideparade.

Important Dates 

Today is St. Jean Baptiste Day. June 25th - July 1st is Somali Heritage Week in Ontario. June 27th is Canadian Multiculturalism Day and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Awareness Day. Please visit our website and follow us on social media to learn more about dates of significance over the summer, and throughout the year. 

In case you missed it…

Summer Learning Opportunities: Registration is closing soon for Summer School for students in grades 9-12, and for the OCDSB’s summer learning programs for Indigenous, Black and 2SLGBTQ+ youth. Please visit our website to learn more about Indigenous Summer Learning, the Sankofa Academy for Black Youth, and the 2SLGBTQ+ Voices: Building Bridges Program, and register by June 28, 2022. 

Thank you, 

Camille Williams-Taylor 

Director of Education 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.